top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnie Hope

Q&A with John Reed, 'The Storyteller Fellah'


John Reed wearing a black suit standing next to a display stand which has the wording John Reed The Storyteller Fellah


It was a pleasure to host John Reed, ‘The Storyteller Fellah’ at our writing group, Writing Strong, on Saturday 20th January.


It was a great session, and very helpful to group members, and we all enjoyed hearing about John's wonderful work in prisons, and the support he has given to others.


We also discussed John's book, Choices and Chances, how it came to fruition, and what plans he has for the future.


John has kindly scribed answers to the questions that were asked by group members following the session.

 

Can you tell us a little about what you do, and how it all came about?

Certainly, I can I have told this story many times, it seems to interest many people. In 2016 I won a scholarship to the School for Social Enterprise, and at the age of 68 this was a major part of my plan never to retire  ! Since then I have developed the business to concentrate on working in prisons, delivering a variety of interventions, all designed to help residents improve their mental health and to reduce loneliness.

 

What is your favourite part of your work?

My favourite part is seeing men who have lost their freedom begin to rebuild their lives by improving their situation. Often this makes me realize these men, who some would see as being deserving of their punishment, as humans who simply need help and guidance. Nobody can help unless the person respects and trust me, so I do this first.

 

Do you work with prisoners after release?

Not really, although I currently write to two men who are still in prison, and who I have known for some time now. One will be released this yar, but the other man is just starting a 15 year sentence so needs lots of support just now. I also support his wife and children, because they are also impacted by his sentence.

 

Can you tell us a little about your book Choices and Chances and how this project came about?

My book is very short, but it tells the story of my life and my collaborator friend Edmond Flanagan. The lives are very different, and the book is the foundation for a joint presentation which we are developing this year. The concept is to show that crime does not pay, so do not do it ! The presentation is intended for young people but is equally relevant for anyone who is wanting to change their lives and break free from criminal activity.

 

How did you format the book?

I write it in WORD, and then used a simple programme to make it into a format suitable for printing.

 

Is Choices and Chances available with any of the approved providers that can be sent into prison? For example, I used to use Blackwell's when my husband was in as they were free delivery into prison. I know other women send their husbands books too.

No, I have never done this and would welcome advice on how to do that.

 

Would you be willing to come back to Writing Strong and run a poetry writing session with our group?

Absolutely, I enjoyed doing this very much and will help as often as you ask me, thank you.

 

How do you know if a piece of writing is interesting enough to progress?

I don’t. It is the reader who tells me so I simply write for myself, put it out on social media, and respond when asked to.

 

How can we use storytelling to share our experiences and lobby for change?

Difficult question, but I think the answer is connections. I use LinkedIn regularly, but would talk to anybody, anytime. To lobby for change is what we do constantly, because, like this country, the system is broken and unless we “shout out” to all those who will listen then our message will be lost.

 

If you are able to share, what plans do you have for the future related to writing?

I plan to write more, and develop some short stories in book form, to underscore the other work I am doing. This year we will begin recording podcasts, videos and more, and then speaking publicly in a professional manner to a very large audiences. Basically, there is much to do, so we must get on and do it !

 



 


My name is Annie Hope. I am a writer with lived experience as a family member of someone who had the Knock. I am a professional writer, and I am able to work with your organisation, charity or with you as an individual in a variety of different ways. Please have a look at my website to find out more. 


I also run a free writing group for family members of those who are convicted of sexual offences. You can find out more about the group here. You can find blog posts with free advice about writing and helpful tips in my main blog index here. 


You can contact me by email anniehopewriter@gmail.com


Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page