top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnie Hope

John Reed, 'the Storyteller Fellah' - the Power of Poetry in Prison and Beyond...





John Reed, 'The Storyteller Fellah', will be returning to Writing Strong in 2024 to run a poetry session, having recently appeared as a guest at our January session.


Writing Strong is a writing group for family members and friends of those who have committed sexual offences. Please watch this space for future projects and exciting collaborations!


In the meantime, it was a pleasure to catch up again as we chatted all things poetry, prison, positivity and the motivation driving John to do the wonderful work that he does...


In prison you meet a wealth of interesting people - can you tell me more about your work?


Firstly, it's important to say that I have no preferences for working with any particular group, I treat everyone the same, but of course some individuals stick in my heart more than others do.


I began my prison work in a prison for sex offenders, but more specifically, with the older generation men. These were men convicted after they became 65 years old, retirement age, and so did not work in prison like many others do. This led to my now well established desire to address the problem of loneliness in prison.


What impact does loneliness have in prison? I understand that loneliness is an issue that exists throughout society, but perhaps it impacts differently in prison?


Yes it is, and you are right to say it is a problem for the general population, but prison presents a more difficult problem for anyone inside.


Let me explain- many prisoners are old, and on their first conviction. They have no experience of the “system” and are totally like “fish out of water”. They enter a world devoid of all their friends and family, and the main problem is who to trust.


Trust is important in life.


I always say “Trust and Respect” are all you need to survive, both in life and when incarcerated. But until a new inmate finds those, he has no one, and therefore loneliness is his big problem. And so, until he settles in to this new way of life, he will be lonely, and this can lead to all kinds of mental health problem such as depression and anxiety, even in people who have never suffered this illness before.


This situation sound serious, is there a solution ?


No, but there are many things we can do to overcome the problem. I refer here to inside a prison, outside is rather different. Firstly, I do not offer any kind of a solution until I have the trust and respect of the men, and that they are aware, that they have mine also.


Once this is established, via poetry, storytelling, music or even just a chat, then we can move forward. Praise plays a big part in this. Many of the men I meet have never been praised in their entire lives.  Possibly growing up in very poor circumstances, perhaps in care, or perhaps with abusive parents.


I understand that poetry - and writing in general - can create opportunities. Can you explain how poetry in particular helps people in prison?


I begin with limericks, simple examples, often the men have their own favourites, but always funny one’s. Smiling helps the establishment of a friendship, which leads to the establishment of trust and respect. Lubricate with tea, coffee and biscuits ( it really isn’t rocket science ) and soon we have a group.


Once I read my own poetry to the men, and they begin to believe that they can write it as well, then we are off to a good start. Eventually I get the group reading to each other, laughing together, sharing complaints together, and then, we have loneliness on the way out.


Do you find that people form new friendships and connections?


Yes, always. They say things like “ I only ever spoke to men on my landing, but these men in this group are all new to me, and I enjoy the chat amongst us “.


How often do the groups meet up?


We have found the best is one day each week, for as many weeks as the prison will allow. Of course the prison has a budget, but this is not expensive and when they see the rate of self-harm, suicide attempts and depression/anxiety reducing, then the cost is justified.


Does storytelling have the same effect ?


It seems to - indeed, any intervention ( prison speak ) can work. It really depends upon the men accepting the initiative, and then that it is delivered in a way that encourages the men to learn something new, or at least rekindle their liking of something they may not have engaged with for many years.


Sounds like a great way to create hope and connection. What drives you to do this, and are there also benefits to you ?


I am driven by my mum. She died in 2015 aged 93, and she always encouraged me to do my best. Once I learned about Social Enterprises, in 2016, I felt compelled to do this work, and have never regrated that decision. I will continue for as long as I can because I think this work is vitally important.


Benefits to me, yes of course. It keeps me mentally challenged, it keeps me active, and it gives me self respect - something everyone needs.





 


 


My name is Annie Hope. I am a writer with lived experience as a family member of someone who had the Knock. I am a professional writer, and I am able to work with your organisation, charity or with you as an individual in a variety of different ways. Please have a look at my website to find out more. 


I run a free writing group for family members of those who are convicted of sexual offences. You can find out more about the group here. You can find blog posts with free advice about writing and helpful tips in my main blog index here. 


You can contact me by email anniehopewriter@gmail.com

Commentaires


bottom of page